tophatter.com tophatter.com

tophatter.com

Safety

Google Safebrowsing Safe

Status: Safe

Website Antivirus Safe

Status: Safe

Downloads: Safe

Popups: 0 pop-ups

Links: Good

Social Reputation

Webutation Reviews Warning

excellent: 4

good: 1

neutral: 1

bad: 16

very bad: 33

WOT (Web of Trust) Safe

Trustworthiness: Safe

Vendor reliability: Safe

Privacy: Safe

Child Safety: Safe

Wikipedia Trust Links No links.

Links: No links.

G-Rated / Child Safety Safe |

URL: tophatter.com

IP: 23.21.213.54

40 100
Calculating
Website Owner? Click here!
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
I've been both buyer and seller! I can say the coach bags are authentic because they are screened. Jewelry however can be an issue if you buy plated make sure you r aware that plated jewelry will not hold up to everyday wear and tear. As a seller of... See Morejewelry I purchase jewelry made only in the USA and tend to sell only stainless steel because it will never change colors turn your finger green and is hypoallergenic! Don't let this one bad site ruin your experience! I also sell coach and they are authentic! And am always happy to show proof of sale! MY ADVICE IS TO TRY THIS BRAND NEW AUCTION SITE THATS IN ITS BABY PHASE, THEY TREAT BOTH BUYERS AND SELLERS WITH RESPECT AND DO NOT CHARGE THE SELLERS OBNOXIOUS FEES WHICH IN TURN CAUSES SELLERS TO PURCHASE CHEAPER QUALITY JEWELRY TO MAKE A PROFIT! I do not work for this new site but would like to see both sellers and buyers work together to meet the supply and demand of quality items. :)
TRY THE NEW SITE BELOW ITS IN ITS INFANCY STAGES BUT WILL TOP TOPHATTER SOON

www.https//raiseyourpaddlez.com
By gravatar LisaG9 (New User) - on Jul 10, 2014 - 08:43 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
I have been ripped off and what's worse is not one person in Tophatter cares. They are making money, so who cares about us. I no longer sell there and am selling at raiseyourpaddlez.com. They care about there sellers, have low fees and they actually answered me when I had... See Morea question. They are still in Beta but I would rather send my buyers there and help them grow than spend another second making Tophatter rich!
By gravatar MelissaT8 (New User) - on Jun 17, 2014 - 20:56 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
Overpriced crap! I bought a shadow palette for 27 dollars including shipping from ALICE. Yeah well I saw the same pos for sale at walgreens for 4.99. These people present their items as quality items yet they are not. Palette looks suspiciously like urban decay only to confuse and dupe... See Moreyou! Forget Tophatter! The one and only item I will ever purchase! This should not be allowed.
By gravatar TerriS3 (New User) - on May 10, 2014 - 20:35 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
I really don't need to state much here expect for try Googling Tophatter and read ALL the reviews from people who have experienced their fair share of Tophatter. Then go to www.ripoffreport.com and read those reviews. I was a seller on Tophatter for 7 months yes it starts out nice... See Moreuntil they decide if you are worth getting scheduled into their auctions or not. Their fees are high and their customer service his horrible. This is by FAR the WORST site for trying to grow your online business. Do NOT get taken into their scams. I did not catch it at first but when I saw all the FAKE items from aliexpress constantly appearing in every auction day and night I began to check out this company. I have been selling on eBay for about 10 years and my items are true to the description. I don't buy FAKE items and try to pass them off as real. Tophatter does NOT care about the sellers, As long as the money is coming in they do NOTHING. Once I questioned what was going on my ability to sell during the day was KILLED. I was limited to 11pm listing until 7am nothing more. My standards and items are not worthy of being on Tophatter and I emailed over 4,000 buyers and let them know I will be moving my items over to a new live auction site. I have investigated this site and look forward to growing my business. Save yourself the effort and READ the reviews from MANY people FIRST. Everyone cannot be telling a lie!
This company WILL go down because they do not know the meaning of HUMAN customer service. Each and every person that works there is full of CRAP. Never get a straight answer. I will make sure I spread the word around about Tophatter. Do NOT sell on their site. Do NOT buy on their site.
By gravatar MomoniM (New User) - on Apr 17, 2014 - 00:49 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
Two things you need to know about TH. 1. 90% of the items are from aliexpress.co where you can buy them for about $1 instead of rediculos prices on TH ( example infinity wrap bracelet goes between $15-$50 when it actually cost $1-$1-5.) Number 2 their Coach auction is... See Moresimply Coach Factory items. So the so called "retail" for $298 was NEVER $298 if you are familiar at least a little bit with Coach Factory they NEVER sell at a sticker price. Example: this popular on TH weekender bag that the sellers claim retails at $149, Coach Factory sells it for $64! Stop lieying!
BUYER, be smart! Do a little research before buying there! The only time when you can actually get a deal is when an action opens and there's 20-30 people in the room. Even in that case you should not buy there. Bcos if smth goes wrong Good Luck getting it resolved!
By gravatar SvetaB (New User) - on Jan 09, 2014 - 06:28 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
This site is full of theives. People just sell counterfeit items and cheat you out of money. Counterfeit makeup! Happened to me twice!!
By gravatar AhnaS (New User) - on Nov 15, 2013 - 00:37 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
Fake items are sold here and when I tried returning they "never" received the product. When I called the seller out on not being the same as the original product she claimed that maybe the one I owned was fake. Girl, please! Never using this site again! Stay away!!!!
By gravatar AnabelO (New User) - on Nov 12, 2013 - 06:36 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
The worse site any one can use not only do they treat sellers like shit they try to banned them for any reason I was there for a yr and they looked for any reason for them to throw me off my father joined threw him off my sister joined... See Morethrew her off my girlfiend joined tossed her off as well and other sellers are so rude and staff doesnt care dont use the site at all
By gravatar WilliamH9 (New User) - on Oct 15, 2013 - 23:36 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
Bad site and don't expect fair help by the admin..... they IGNORE problems that they cannot give a sensible answer to. The reason why there are so many unhappy buyers is because tophatter continues to allow sellers who outright lie to stay on their site.... for... See Moreexample, I purchased an item in which the seller would not send it. This happened right around Christmas. She continued to ignore all my emails to her until I started a paypal dispute and THEN, only then she answered with a cock and bull story that she was in the hospital and that she was sending my refund immediately, but still claiming to have sent my item. I waited another two weeks before I called paypal directly and paypal took the money right out of her account because the said item showed it was NEVER received at the post office. Tophatter did as they should when I entered a negative item not received and prevented her from selling. They told me that she would not be allowed to sell again since paypal had to force a refund. However, she made up a FAKE paypal slip stating she sent me money in a refund, one with no ID numbers on it. I had the real paypal transaction receipt with ID numbers proving that to get my money back paypal had to force a refund but tophatter choose to ignore the legitimate receipt. As a follow up, the seller told tophatter the same cock and bull hospital story claiming that she had been in the hospital up to that day with no access to a computer.... However, her own emails to me via the tophatter internal email showed this was a lie because she sent them when she claimed to be in the hospital (and tophatter had access to these emails both on their site and sent by me). But, because she was a seller in their featured auctions in which they make the most money, they allowed her back in with the obvious lies. They tried to tell me that she was not trying to say SHE sent the money even tho the "proof" she had was a definite FAKE of a receipt of a transaction paypal gives to the person sending money. They said there was no proof that showed she lied about the dates in the hospital. But both the information she put in the email she sent to me along with the date she sent it contradicted what she told top hatter... ie she sent it to me on Dec 12 saying "I just got out, been in since Nov 30" and then on Jan 5th she sent one to them saying "just got out today, been in since Nov 30 with no access to a computer". when I pointed this out to them, instead of addressing the issue, tophatter became mum and ignored all other inquiries, even tho they had last said "if we are mistaken, please point this out to us".
I gave them more chances as it is perhaps that maybe it was one bad seller... WELL, 5 more bad transactions with 5 different sellers later made me realize that it is a trend that tophatter does little to keep these bad sellers off their site. IT seems like, as long as the seller brings tophatter money, it does not matter their conduct. Thus, I took my buying elsewhere and would advise everyone to stay away from the site. The few positive reviews I see on here keep referring to the fact of the quality of the merchandise and these people claim that those giving bad review are mistaken in doing so... Well, this is one review that shows that it IS how tophatter handles their customer service that has earned such a negative from me. I am guessing if TH was more strict and careful in recognizing scammer (especially with documented proof sent by the seller scammer like that I had) that they would not be getting such a bad rep as they are. I have to also gather giving my own experience in which they ignored the obvious signs of that bad seller, that tophatter has done that many more times and that is why I ended up coming across so many other bad sellers. What is so sad is that there were some good sellers on there too and they are being lumped in with the bad due to tophatter admin inaction in dealing with the bad.

Tophatter continues to claim "Poor us, give us a chance, we are a new site". It's an old excuse and they should know much better by now

I encourage anyone and everyone, no matter how little you think it will help, to file a complaint with the BBB for any incident, no matter how old, that tophatter has not acted as they should.
By gravatar DeborahM (New User) - on Sep 19, 2013 - 05:02 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
This is the shadiest business I've seen. They knowingly turned a blind eye to the sale of fraudulent sales of silver and gold for over a year, presumably because they can line their pockets while the unsuspecting public gets ripped off. Now expensive name brands are constantly described as real,... See Morebut they're FAKE. They get reported to TH, but don't get pulled... They just keep on allowing fakes to be sold as real, even when they're reported. They charge exorbitant fees, plus commissions on the shipping, plus PayPal fees make it a miniscule margin for the seller. Strange business practices plague buyers and sellers, such as an attempt to take control of everyone's PayPal accounts so that they can take your money out for you, with or without your authorization. Someone logged in but he found himself actually in someone else's account, with access to the other guy's money. There are all sorts of bugs. If someone tries to ask a question of the seller, within the auction, about the authenticity of an item, they get muted. For instance, when a buyer asked the seller whether a ring is really gold or not,because the description says it has a 14k stamp in the ring, but it also says that it's 14kgp, indicating that it is plated., Tophatter staff muted the buyer. That's the tip of the iceberg. For more info, join the Facebook group Tophatter - The TRUTH, https://www.facebook.com/groups/197437740400058/
By gravatar AundreaL (New User) - on Sep 19, 2013 - 04:03 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
neutral.
First I would like to say that the majority of the coach items sold in those auctions are real, 100% original. I sell original Coach on my own website coachfleamarket.com, so I can tell. I buy directly from Coach at wholesale prices, and I can tell the difference perfectly. When... See Moreyou really know them, the difference is very very obvious. When you don't know they can fool you. The vast majority of the Coach bags sold on tophatter are in fact real. Obviously if you call coach and ask them if they sell there, they are going to say NO, because they don't, they sell to people, and the people sell there, simple. And the same thing with MAC, and other cosmetic brands. But I have to say I wouldn't give my word for the cosmetics, only because I'm not an expert on those products as I am on Coach.
One the other hand, I agree with ChanaL that the fees for sellers are ridiculous, even giving you a fee on shipping!! that's outrageous. I hope you get to some point on that matter. That's exactly why I stopped selling there.
But I have to say, on some auctions, you can get a really low price for an original item, you often see even sellers complaining about not being able to make money of it. The Coach bags half of the time sell very low priced, and most start from $1 to $25. For a $300dlls to $400dlls bag, they end up selling at $190 or even less... that's more than 50% off retail price.
As for the jewelry and perfume auctions, you really cannot expect to be buying CONSISTENTLY white gold items and pure silver items for less than $25 dlls, it's ridiculous on the part of the buyer. For example, If you see a perfume, that is constantly selling for less than $40dlls, trust me, it's not real, I also sell original perfumes and I don't get any ORIGINAL one for less than $40, and that's wholesale price!!.
So no one selling perfume online for less than $40 are selling you the real deal, not even ebay, I've been there, I've bought there and I've sold there, the brand perfumes sold below $40 ARE NOT REAL.
So if you enter a Tophatter auction and are expecting to buy a white gold plated or pure silver ring, check the ones that start over $25 or $30 to see how they look like, and then check the alike that start low, and that's a way to somewhat know what you're buying is real.
Or simply go have a good time at this fun interactive auctions and buy something for the look of it, because you like the style and would like to wear it. But don't really expecto to get gold or silver for less than $30 or $35 at the very least. Like I said, one thing is to sell one item below $25, because that auction didn't go so well, but another thing is a seller, that is constantly selling below this price and it's still there, and keeps selling, he's definitely NOT selling real gold or silver. Also with perfumes, one or two below $40 it's ok, because that happens, but constantly below $40, and being able to keep selling, it's not real. The same same same on Ebay, and pretty much everywhere online!!! So people, you get what you pay for, online and in life. Not more, not less.
By gravatar AleR2 (New User) - on Sep 10, 2013 - 19:50 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
I sell and buy on this site and I love it!! I have gotten everything i ordered and I ship in one to two days I always get good reviews. I feel bad that people have not had good expriences. The only complant i have is the seller fees they... See Moreae VERY high and make it hard for people to sell at a fair price because as sellers we need to make a profit to I would like it better if the fees were lower.
By gravatar KasandraD (New User) - on Sep 08, 2013 - 04:47 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
Used tophatter for quiet some time and I don't anymore. I see 5 star reviews says that the one star reviews seem to be based off the item quality. Okay hers my review from a buyer point of view:

The items are always extremely overpriced as tophatter focuses on impulse buying.... See MoreI have seen $2 nail polish go for $32 and a $5 pet bed you can get on ebay go for $60. Also most items are drop shipped from china so expect long delivery times and Tophatter does not authenticate items so majority of jewelry is fake and same with coach and what not.
From a buyers perspective I encourage you not to shop here as you will find better deals and the sellers have such high fees they raise their prices here.

From a sellers point of view.... well I had to stop using tophatter. You will sell items but the fees will make you almost always break even. There are a few successful sellers but Unless you are selling items from china you will not make a profit here. They also constantly change their pricing and how often they will let you into auctions.
Just as a note you have to pay to get into the auction whether it sells or not plus a 10% commission fee with a $1 minimum.
PLUS paypal fees.
Plainly its not worth the hassle.
The community auctions are great but items hardly ever sell in there because buyers don't even know how to get to the community auction page. Also tophatter refuses to put community auctions on its normal page as they feel it takes people away from the main auction when in reality its cheaper to participate in a community auction because its only a 5% commission fee than in the main auctions
By gravatar KristaC (New User) - on Sep 01, 2013 - 09:18 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
This site is awful!!!! terrible !!! worse site ever !!!! Don't go there. Items are way over price and items are no way near what you excepted to receive. I have been to about 5 auctions. Each one I received something. First... See Morecouple of times was ok. Got my items. Then I order some jewelry craft items. It took a month to receive the items. I sent a message to seller and tophatter once a week wanting my items. When I finally got the items I was not happy at all. Ok I went to another auction... won an auction on jewelry crafts again. It was small peace sign charms. Was very very unhappy with items. And paid a lot for these. They where very small charms. They are silver and over 75% of them were almost black... not silver. I went and brought some silver spray paint. Sprayed them and it worked. I have not been back to the site and never will again. I told all my friends not to go to this site. I have started buying my craft supplies on ebay. Lot better prices... lot better. And receive products sooner. What really made me upset with site was the rude letters I received from tophatter about not receiving my items. I was wanting to get a refund put back on my pay pal account. No way. All I have to say... DO NOT GO TO THIS SITE. Wish I had read this reviews before I had went to the auctions and Paid my money and got awful items.
By gravatar ConnieM4 (New User) - on Sep 01, 2013 - 08:22 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
I agree with nearly 100% of what is written here... having been a brief seller on TH, I noticed the same problems right away. When I approached staff to try to understand I got excuses IF they replied at all. Did everyone here know that TH is owned by its... See Moreemployees? They answer to themselves which means if their work ethic is terrible, they have no supervisor etc to get them inline, and I have this in writing from one of their head honchos! It's NO wonder that staff sell and break rules that the rest of us have to follow. Also, I insisted that they be consistent with their own rules. You can sell certain items in certain rules, there are a variety of criteria and I worked around the clock for weeks to reach intermediate level and get into places I needed to be. I had items scheduled into the rooms by the staff only to have them pulled and then have fees charged with NO SALE and I cannot tell you the dozens upon dozens of screen shots I have showing they allow their friends to sell items not supposedly allowed in that particular room. They can but I can't? So I complained that either we all can or no one can and I did give some ideas for how to restructure that would benefit the company, buyer and seller but their response was to terminate me. I cannot even buy on the site. So I've taken a variety of steps. For one did you know it's illegal for them to charge 14% of the shipping price, because that's stealing from the government? My local postmaster whipped out some forms and started making formal complaints against the company. The government is slow but some day maybe in a month or three, the government is going to come knocking, and I've done more. I could write a novella about what they do wrong, even illegally, but the bottom line is TH discriminates. They discriminated against me and I know multiple other people who have had their accounts either suspended or terminated, including a woman who needed a life saving surgery on an emergent basis, she notified them she would be away, and they killed her account. That's a violation of the ADA. TH feels a deep sense of entitlement and does what it wants with no apparent concern for federal law, particularly an employee with initial C who used to work at eBay/ PayPal and one must ask themselves "why would someone walk away from those companies when they are the dominant auction force in e commerce?" One would not, so I am wondering if C did not leave voluntarily. I've had many buyers tell me they had a negative experience and they are leaving. TH will run itself into the ground due to its sense of entitlement and overconfidence, they are not all they think they are, and when all the complaints I've filed and actions I've taken with the large amount of evidence I collected hit them, I would not be surprised if they get hit with a class action from both buyer and seller alike. I expect them to sink like a rock.

If you are buying or considering buying, please recall the phrase "buyer beware". If you are considering selling, I urge you to consider other platforms. If you are taking part in illegal activities and TH is investigated, you could get in trouble as well. The sad thing is they have a novel idea and it could be really successful if they'd run it right, but they choose not to.
By gravatar ChanaL (New User) - on Aug 26, 2013 - 12:47 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
Terrible auction site for sellers and buyers. Staff has even started selling on the site and seems to be taking over the auctions. Pretty soon,there will be no individual sellers....just Tophatter company staff selling Amazon items and having if fulfilled by Amazon. Buyers and sellers are getting... See Morethe brunt of all the staff changes and daily crazy changes in policies. Even the auction times are changed by surprise without notice so buyers can't find their auctions. New buyers are confused because they don't know how it works and can't find the help they need. Sellers are mad because kids, cats, and dogs are bidding and winning, but not paying, and iPhone users are using an app that was never ready for release. If this doesn't implode, someone is going to buy it and make it a real auction site.
By gravatar CoralKae (New User) - on Aug 06, 2013 - 06:02 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
All the make-up on the site comes from AliExpress.co and is counterfeit. Mac,Urban Decay,benefit ,etc do not sell their product on this site I emailed each of the companies
By gravatar JulieK3 (New User) - on Aug 03, 2013 - 03:36 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
Thanks for all the negative feedback.. i think the set up is cute but the products are cheap...with a trained eye, a fake Coach bag can be spotted immediately...so glad I didn't buy anything.. ;)
By gravatar JenniferA2 (New User) - on Jul 12, 2013 - 04:36 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
This site should really allow you to leave negative star ratings. If possible, I would leave at least a -5 star rating. Tophatter.com is all wrong, so very wrong. The sellers that manage to get in to auctions sell mostly cheap, fake items. The feedback system is just cruel, and... See Morethe staff is so incredibly unprofessional. Not only are the staff members unprofessional but they are also able to sell and buy on the site, which seems super shady. Tophatter does not value its loyal users, and instead values the amount of $ one seller might make them even if the seller is incredibly dishonest and provides awful customer service. Do NOT waste your time on this awful, awful site. Their policies change every other day, their fees go up every other day, and the number of disgusted, disappointed users goes up every other day.
By gravatar BarbieM (New User) - on Jul 09, 2013 - 08:07 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
very poor customer service, very disapointed, would never recomend to friends
By gravatar MairaC (New User) - on Jun 30, 2013 - 22:33 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
I had such a great experience with Top Hatter! I bought a really cool sloth poster and it got to my apartment in less than 2 weeks. The auction was so cute and fun with all the little people in the room being the auctioneers. The moderator was helpful and... See MoreI liked that you could see what was coming next. I would recommend this site to any of my friends looking for something different to buy, especially in an interactive way.
By gravatar CristinaM3 (New User) - on Jun 27, 2013 - 04:27 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
This site is absolutely horrible!!! I have been a member for a while now and it has quickly gone downhill. They are constantly selling fake Coach, Make Up, Designer Jewelry. They have new "designer" auction where they allow items that are sold at the dollar tree to be in listed... See Morein "Designer Brand " auctions. The site has no integrity! I don't know if they don't have enough staff to monitor the site or they are perfectly fine with counterfeit items to be sold. They need to be reported to the proper authorities
By gravatar MilaM (New User) - on Jun 26, 2013 - 21:10 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
I have to say I'm a bit surprised by all the reviews of the site when it sounds like it's the item quality (which are provided by sellers) and customer service (also provided by sellers) that's the problem, not the site itself.
I am (was) a handmade seller on the site... See Moreand had nothing but successful transactions. Life got in the way, but I'm planning on starting up again.
I found it a great site to test market items, to see what the market will bear as far as retail price, because the bids will only go as high as buyers want to pay. That's a goldmine of information for those who make their own items. I can even create and promote an auction of all my own items, and drive traffic both ways, from my website and back again. I think I'll be trying that next.
And the customer service people I've spoken with have answered my questions, or else pointed me in the direction of the answer.
I'll definitely be back to Tophatter.
Bobbie
Kids Handknits
By gravatar BobbieW (New User) - on Jun 21, 2013 - 01:34 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
I wish I didn't have to put any stars. I purchased two items on two different occasions and paid for shipping only to never receive them. When I contacted the USPS with the information the seller gave me they informed me they are not responsible for lost packages because the... See Moreseller didn't have insurance. They told me to contact the seller and when I did I was told it wasn't their problem. Great!! They had no problem taking my money but could not do anything to help me, not even talk with the postal service themselves. NO CUSTOMER SERVICE at all!
By gravatar DaniD2 (New User) - on May 07, 2013 - 17:48 | report
Thumb Up
0
Thumb Down
Horrible site all people like to buy from there is fake , cheap gold, and stuff from china they don't appreciate the handmade work, the fees are too high so it is a waste of time and money
By gravatar SophistiquéB (New User) - on May 03, 2013 - 22:04 | report
Write a Review

BETA We evaluate the latest social media signals (about tophatter.com)
from Twitter, Facebook and Google+ to get an idea about the public opinion.

Social Talk

Google+: 205

Twitter: 2757

Facebook: 4893

Visibility Stats

Traffic Rank:
58,324
PageRank:
3
Facebook Share:
4187
Facebook Like:
706
Google+ Like:
205
Twitter Share:
2757

Add the Webutation certificate to your website

This code loads asynchronous to keep your website speed!

tophatter.com

just copy & paste the snippet into your website!

tophatter.com

just copy & paste the snippet into your website!

About tophatter.com

Tophatter

Buy and sell clothing, apparel, accessories, collectibles, kids stuff, handmade, crafts and lots more on Tophatter, the world's most entertaining live marketplace. Sign up and begin to buy and sell right now on tophatter.com.

Owner & Service

Malware Reminder Update Score Edit address Manage Website

Subdomains Relevance ?

Wikipedia Trust Links Relevance ?


Website Ping Test: tophatter.com down?

... 0 1 2 3